Formula One: Pre-Season notes

2010 promises to be a season of entertainment and intrigue. The word to describe Formula One for this year would be ‘new’. This year we will see new drivers, new teams, new rules and a new circuit. Add in the return of a 7 time champion and you have the ingredients for a very good season of racing.

The 2009 season saw Brawn GP’s Jenson Button crowned world champion. A champion that few would of predicted at the start of that season. While it was novel to see a ‘new’ team in the shape of Brawn GP rise to the top and beat the likes of McLaren and Ferrari, the novelty waned through the season. This was partly due to the lack of good races in the season. While most think of Brazil as the race of 2009, there weren’t many contenders for that title. Given the excitement and events of 2008, maybe we became accustomed to high levels of entertainment in Formula One.

As a quick preview of the 2010 season here are some of the major changes for 2010:

  • Mercedes took ownership of the Brawn GP team and will be racing as Mercedes GP
  • World Champion Jenson Button moves to McLaren to race alongside 2008 champion Lewis Hamilton
  • 7 time champion Michael Schumacher will race for Mercedes GP alongside Nico Rosberg
  • 2 time champion Fernando Alonso will drive for Ferrari with the returning Felipe Massa
  • 3 new teams – Virgin Racing, HRT F1 and Lotus Racing
  • 1 new circuit on the calendar – South Korea
  • 5 rookies – Nico Hulkenberg, Vitaly Petrov, Bruno Senna, Karun Chandhok and Lucas di Grassi
  • New points system – 25th points for 1st, 18 for 2nd, 15 for 3rd, with points down to 10th place
  • No refuelling during race just pitstops for tyres and repairs

Leave a Reply